Railway Station Codes

Until the advent of smartphone travel planning software where brevity has its uses, this list would have remained an esoteric interest. However, given how travel by train on mainland Britain can be planned so much quicker using these because they only are three letters long, I have decided to create a list here. You will see all of them in brackets after station names on the National Rail Enquiries journey planner but using them on their own is a possibility too and It doesn’t matter whether you are needing live departure or arrival information or to see get information about a change of train while on the move. After all, you now can get platform information as well as times so this saves minutes of peering at train station information screens and may save hassle for those rare occasions when they are not working properly.

Railway Station Codes

Since the list is incomplete, I plan to add to it on an ongoing basis. In time, it may become complete but the ones that I have found handy need to suffice for now. The arrangement is in alphabetical order of station code, which is to the left of the actual full name of the halt in question. Hope you find it useful.

ABD: Aberdeen

ADS: Ardrossan Harbour

AGV: Abergavenny

ALD: Alderley Edge

ALM: Alnmouth

ALT: Altrincham

AVM: Aviemore

AYS: Aylesbury

AYW: Aberystwyth

BAM: Bamford

BDI: Bradford Interchange

BDQ: Bradford Forster Square

BFF: Blaenau Ffestiniog

BHM: Birmingham New Street

BIY: Bingley

BNG: Bangor (Wales)

BPW: Bristol Parkway

BRI: Bristol Temple Meads

BRM: Barmouth

BRO: Bridge of Orchy

BTH: Bath Spa

BUX: Buxton

BWK: Berwick-upon-Tweed

BYC: Betws-y-Coed

CAR: Carlisle

CBG: Cambridge

CDF: Cardiff Central

CHU: Cheadle Hulme

CNG: Congleton

CNW: Conwy

COV: Coventry

CPW: Chepstow

CRE: Crewe

CRR: Corrour

CTR: Chester

CTT: Church Stretton

CWS: Caersws

DAR: Darlington

DBC: Dumbarton Central

DBE: Dumbarton East

DBY: Derby

DGT: Deansgate

DHM: Durham

DLG: Dolgarrog

DSL: Disley

DWD: Dolwyddelan

DYF: Dyffryn Ardudwy

EDB: Edinburgh Waverley

EDL: Edale

EUS: London Euston

FTW: Fort William

GLC: Glasgow Central

GLF: Glenfinnan

GLO: Glossop

GLQ: Glasgow Queen Street

GSD: Garsdale

HAZ: Hazel Grove

HBD: Hebden Bridge

HDF: Hadfield

HAT: Hatfield

HEX: Hexham

HFX: Halifax

HGT: Harrogate

HIR: Horton-in-Ribblesdale

HIT: Hitchin

HOP: Hope, Derbyshire

HTC: Heaton Chapel

HUD: Huddersfield

HVF: Haverfordwest

ILK: Ilkley

INV: Inverness

KDG: Kidsgrove

KEI: Keighley

KGX: London King’s Cross

KNA: Knaresborough

KNF: Knutsford

KNI: Knighton

KPA: Kensington Olympia

KYL: Kyle of Lochalsh

LAN: Lancaster

LCN: Lincoln Central

LDS: Leeds

LDY: Ladybank

LHD: Leatherhead

LIV: Liverpool Lime Street

LLJ: Llandudno Junction

LPG: Llanfair­pwllgwyn­gyllgo­gery­chwyrn­drobwll­llanty­silio­gogo­goch

LPT: Longport

LTL: Littleborough

LWR: Llanrwst

MAC: Macclesfield

MAN: Manchester Piccadilly

MCN: Machynlleth

MCO: Manchester Oxford Road

MCV: Manchester Victoria

MIA: Manchester Airport

MKC: Milton Keynes Central

MLG: Mallaig

MRR: Morar

MSN: Marsden

MYB: London Marylebone

NBW: North Berwick

NCL: Newcastle-upon-Tyne

NLR: North Llanrwst

NMP: Northampton

NTR: Northallerton

NWI: Northwich

OBN: Oban

OXF: Oxford

OXN: Oxenholme

PIT: Pitlochry

PLK: Plockton

PNR: Penrith

PRE: Preston

PRT: Prestatyn

PTH: Perth

PWL: Pwllheli

PYT: Poynton

RDG: Reading

RHD: Ribblehead

RHL: Rhyl

SAC: St Albans

SAE: Saltaire

SAV: Stratford-upon-Avon

SBR: Spean Bridge

SET: Settle

SFD: Salford Central

SHF: Sheffield

SHR: Shewsbury

SKI: Skipton

SLD: Salford Crescent

SOT: Stoke-on-Trent

SPT: Stockport

STG: Stirling

STN: Stonehaven

STP: London St. Pancras

SWA: Swansea

SYB: Stalybridge

TOD: Todmorden

WAT: London Waterloo

WBQ: Warrington Bank Quay

WBR: Whaley Bridge

WDM: Windermere

WFJ: Watford Junction

WGN: Wigan North Western

WGW: Wigan Wallgate

WLP: Welshpool

WML: Wilmslow

WOK: Woking

WRW: Warwick

WRX: Wrexham General

WVH: Wolverhampton

WXC: Wrexham Central

YRK: York